4th Annual Bloganthropy Awards

BlogHer Original Post
Politics and Activsm
About You
Debbie Bookstaber
Each year, the Bloganthropy Awards recognize amazing women who use social media for social good. In 2012, we were able to bring the Bloganthropy Awards to BlogHer for the first time and to honor some of these women. Previous winners of the Bloganthropy awards include Katherine Stone (2010), Susan Niebur (2011), Devan McGuinness (2012), and the past finalists also represent some of the most inspiring members of the BlogHer community. By hosting another panel discussion, we want to help shine the spotlight on new honorees as well as include past finalists and winners. Attendees should come away from this session inspired to change the world, but they also will have concrete takeaways from the finalists. Most importantly, this is an opportunity to recognize some hard-working and impressive women. Bloggers like Katherine Stone, Susan Niebur and Devan McGuinness helped and inspired thousands of people, but they weren't showered with free press trips, expensive review products or advertising dollars. Their blogging is an act of love, and it's important to recognize them. We also believe that hosting the Bloganthropy Awards at BlogHer is the only way to make sure that everyone at BlogHer who wants to attend can attend since we do not want to be a part of any off-conference events during BlogHer nor can we afford to hold the awards separately without being obligated to corporate sponsors who would influence the invite list. BlogHer brings together so many people from the blogging community who otherwise would not have the funds or the opportunity to travel to an event.