And The 2011 Heisman Trophy Winner is...

BlogHer Original Post

The 77th Heisman Trophy Winner is...Matt Barkley. Oops.That's not right. The  quarterback, who almost single handedly put USC back on the map this season with his poise, character and performance on the field, was snubbed during the nomination process.

That's not to take anything away from Robert Griffin III who became the first Baylor player to win the Heisman Trophy - college football’s top individual honor. The trophy is named in memory of John Heisman, a former coach who as director of New York’s Downtown Athletic Club helped create the award in 1935. Heisman died from pneumonia less than a year later.

Griffin's heroic win Saturday night in New York was foreshadowed by his fashion choice.  According to the AP, the winner pulled up the bottom of his suit pants and revealed blue Superman socks, complete with an "S' shield and a tiny flowing red cape shortly before the announcement. Very fitting.

(Credit Image: © Robert Backman/Cal Sport Media/

Known as RG3, the junior quarterback led the No. 16 Bears (9-3) to their most wins in 25 years and their second consecutive bowl game after a 16-year postseason drought.

Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck may have been the favorite in both the preseason and throughout much of the 2011 regular season, and he may still go first in the NFL draft, but on Saturday Griffin out-lucked Luck.

RG3 grabbed 405 of 846 first-place votes and 1,687 points to take home the trophy; Luck had 247 first place points and 1,407 points; Richardson received 138 first place votes and 978 points. Ball and Matheiu finished fourth and fifth in the voting, respectively.

When all the ballots had been tallied, Barkley finished with 153 points; good enough for sixth place overall. Although Barkley missed out on being one of the top five vote-getters and classifying as a finalist, he had a 2011 season to be proud of.

Griffin now joins an elite fraternity of football players who have won the coveted trophy. The double threat quarterback is also the third Heisman winner in 14 years to play for a team that lost more than two regular-season games, joining Tim Tebow of Florida in 2007 and Ricky Williams of Texas in 1998.

Catch the latest Heisman winner when Baylor plays the University of Washington in the Dec. 29 Alamo Bowl.


dare to dream
Also online at and


In order to comment on, you'll need to be logged in. You'll be given the option to log in or create an account when you publish your comment. If you do not log in or create an account, your comment will not be displayed.