Astrology: Planet Duties

10 planets in an Astrology Chart: what do they do?

Yes, there are only 8 “planets” (I still keep Pluto on the list), but the 2 luminaries – Sun and Moon – are included when discussing the Zodiac.  Planets are the spark plugs in a chart. They each have a job to do as they energize the many facets of an individual. In addition, a planet is said to have “rulership” of a particular sign (It is happiest and at its most potent energy.)

Below are the Planets, their rulerships and their duties:

Sun – Leo: Life force, self expression

Moon- Cancer: Emotions, sub conscious, nurturing

Mercury- Gemini and Virgo: Communication (makes sense that when Mercury goes retrograde, we need to watch what we say and write) Analytical details

Venus- Taurus and Libra: Love, beauty and also how we view/value ourselves and money

Mars- Aries: Action, conflict, sexuality

Jupiter- Sagittarius: Expansion, recreation, philosophy

Saturn- Capricorn:  Discipline, boundaries

Uranus- Aquarius: Change, the unconventional

Neptune- Pisces: Spirituality, dreams, illusion

Pluto- Scorpio: Unconscious, breaking down and rebuilding

Depending upon which House and Sign a planet appears in on a birth chart can influence how we act/respond. Are we fully expressed or do we feel uncomfortable, misunderstood in certain areas of our lives?


In order to comment on, you'll need to be logged in. You'll be given the option to log in or create an account when you publish your comment. If you do not log in or create an account, your comment will not be displayed.