Madame Senators: Meet the 20 Women of the 113th Senate!

BlogHer Original Post

Senator Deborah Stabenow (D-MI)

Senator Stabenow was re-elected to a third term last night. Earlier this year, Senator Stabenow's opponent Pete Hoekstra ran a negative campaign that was roundly criticized for its racist anti-Chinese imagery. Stabenow is the chair of the Senate Agriculture Committee.

Debbie Stabenow
May 1, 2011 - Michigan, MI, U.S. - Sen Debbie Stabenow is announced at the 56th Annual Detroit Branch NAACP Fight For Freedom Fund Dinner at Cobo Center, Sunday, May 1, 2011. (Image: © Detroit Free Press/

Warm goodbyes to Senators Olympia Snowe (R-ME) and Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX), who are stepping down; and condolences to Shelly Berkley (D-NV), Cynthia Dill (D-ME), Elizabeth Emken (R-CA), Linda Lingle (R-HI), Wendy Long (R-NY), Linda McMahon (R-CT), and Heather Wilson (R-NM), who ran but lost this year.

BlogHer News & Politics Editor Grace Hwang Lynch also contributed to this slideshow.


In order to comment on, you'll need to be logged in. You'll be given the option to log in or create an account when you publish your comment. If you do not log in or create an account, your comment will not be displayed.