Christine

I am a 21-year-old college senior studying radio talent/production at Columbia College Chicago.  I am born and raised in cornland, Illinois (seriously, the vintage DeKalb logo is a flying ear of corn) but both sides of my family are Chicagoans.  I graduate in December and where I go from there, who knows. I have big dreams of NPR.

I have a somewhat sarcastic sense of humor and on occasion, this runs me into trouble.

I believe that I am really a six year-old trapped inside a twenty-one year-old's body.  I giggle a lot (seriously, it's a "heeheehee" which is something I'm known for).  I love finger foods and eating out of bowls.

I live alone on the northside with a fluffy Maine Coon of a cat named Perseus.  We share a studio and only fight when it comes to him putting hairballs on my bed.

I deal with chronic pain due mostly to a messed up spine and sciatica.  I also have problems with other muscle and joint pain.  It's something that I'll write about when big things are happening with it (like the cortisone epidural a year ago...that was a pretty interesting ordeal) but I try not to focus on it too much.

I've had some great opportunities through school, including my internship with NPR's Wait, Wait...Don't Tell Me! and meeting some fantastic people in the industry.  I love what I've gotten myself into.

Any challenge makes me want to work harder than ever to live my life to the fullest that I can rather than sit and give up--and believe you me, I have come close to giving up and going home to my mom's--but that would just mean defeat: and I don't let that happen.