How do you eat out, gluten-free?

My husband was diagnosed with celiac disease two years ago. This means that he can't eat any food with gluten in it, which means any food containing wheat, oats, rye, malt, "spelt," or barley. We've lost count of the products that are off limits to him -- everything from bread and noodles (the obvious) to mixed drinks (no whiskey) to Chinese fried rice (no soy sauce). We've found through experience that even hospital dietary departments don't know what gluten is. ...more

Having wheat allergies myself, I stick to salads and baked potatoes when out.  I still love ... more