Weekly Book Giveaway: <i>Welcome to Bordertown</i>, edited by Holly Black

This week we're giving away a copy of Welcome to Bordertown, a collection of short stories and poetry set in Terri Windling's "Bordertown" Universe and edited by Holly Black. The anthology includes some big names (Jane Yolen, Neil Gaiman, Cassandra Clare, etc.), but I'm most excited about the short story by Annette Curtis Klause, whose book releases are way too few and far between. As always, this contest runs Monday through Friday ....more

A little look-see

NPR is offering readers a sneak peek at Jules Feiffer's upcoming graphic novel Kill My Mother, due out next Tuesday. The story appears to be a play on classic Hollywood film noir, re-imagined via Feiffer's inimitable art style—all sketchy, wavy lines and smudged colors. (I spent my entire childhood assuming that Feiffer's only job, ever, was creating the illustrations for The Phantom Tollbooth, but he's actually an accomplished cartoonist, author, and playwright ....more

Unfair

Illustrator and writer Leanne Shapton has designed a series of absolutely gorgeous patterned covers for Jane Austen's six novels. You can admire the books via the website Creative Review, but I have yet to see any signs of them on Random House's American website. I'm hoping this is due to a staggered release date, and that I won't need to special order them from the UK, because I'm going to be right grumpy if they get those, and we get these—which, while inoffensive, are also totally boring ....more

<i>Girl to the Core</i>, by Stacey Goldblatt

Stacey Goldblatt's Girl to the Core has the makings of a sweet, inspirational coming-of-age novel... cursed with a story-crippling flaw. Goldblatt's heroine is Molly O'Keefe, the only girl in a large, boisterous Irish-American family ....more

Tactile reading

NPR recently posted a fascinating article about how 3-D printing might change books printed for blind readers—imagine a sculptural version of Goodnight Moon, with the mittens and kitten and everything standing out from the page. There are obviously some significant barriers to overcome, but one idea is that producing non-visual "picture books" should help very young visually impaired children develop their tactile awareness, which will be useful when they start learning Braille ....more

Ghoulish tourism!

According to The Independent, the Yorkshire house that inspired Jane Eyre's Thornfield Hall is now open to the public. Charlotte Bronte visited the stately home of Norton Conyers in 1839, and heard the legend of "Mad Mary", a woman who was rumored to have been shut up in a remote area of the house in the previous century. The home won't be fully open until next year, but visitors can already visit the infamous attic ....more

<i>The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy</i>, by Kate Hattemer

Kate Hattemer's The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy is the kind of challenging, dialogue-driven teen drama I would have absolutely devoured as a kid. Sadly, I read it as an adult, which left me with a somewhat different reaction. The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy is narrated by Ethan Andrezejczak, an unassuming, inarticulate student at a challenging Minnesota arts academy ....more

Weekly Book Giveaway: <i>The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy</i>, by Kate Hattemer

This week we're giving away a copy of The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy, by Kate Hattemer. The PR note I received with the novel claims that it's perfect for fans of Glee. I don't know about Ms ....more

Not feeling it.

Okay, I've been super busy this summer, but how did I miss this, and—bigger question—why is it happening? Bookriot informs me that Bloomsbury is releasing another new set of Harry Potter covers, this time featuring the artwork of Jonny Duddle. The books will be reset for a more child-friendly reading experience (because the previous two cover designs and zillions of books sold weren't child-friendly enough...?), and feature some additional content from the Pottermore website ....more

Sadly...

The trailer is out for the upcoming Johnny Depp movie Mortdecai, based on the 1970s series of comic novels by Kyril Bonfiglioli. The movie looks absolutely terrible, but I had my hopes up about the books, seeing as A) they appear to be a parody of the Jeeves and Wooster stories, and B) the third is called Something Nasty in the Woodshed, which I assume is a reference to my beloved Cold Comfort Farm. Now, I love Jeeves and Wooster, and any nod to Cold Comfort goes a long way with me, but the Internet informs me that this particular book is a comedy about a serial rapist, and I just can't embrace that, you know? ...more