NaBloPoMo September 2013 Prompts

BlogHer Original Post

If you're participating in NaBloPoMo in September -- or even if you're not! -- here are some prompts to get you going. Writing prompts are posted at the beginning of the month so you can plan ahead, Monday to Friday (weekends are for free-writing!).

NaBloPoMo Prompts

Monday, September 2, 2013
Do you enjoy doing volunteer work? Is there anywhere you volunteer right now?

Tuesday, September 3, 2013
Some high schools require community service for graduation. Do you think there should be a national community service requirement for all students?

Wednesday, September 4, 2013
What has been your favourite volunteer work to date?

Thursday, September 5, 2013
Mohandas Gandhi said, "The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others."  What have you discovered about yourself by volunteering?

Friday, September 6, 2013
Margaret Mead said, "Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it's the only thing that ever has." Have you ever felt as if you changed the world?

Monday, September 9, 2013
Would you ever want to run for public office? Why or why not?

Tuesday, September 10, 2013
If you were absolutely certain to win, which public office would you want to hold?

Wednesday, September 11, 2013
Have you ever helped on a campaign? Tell us your campaigning story.

Thursday, September 12, 2013
Abraham Lincoln said, "To ease another’s heartache is to forget one’s own."  Have you ever eased your heartache by helping someone else?

Friday, September 13, 2013
Do you like to get credit for your good deeds?

Monday, September 16, 2013
Do you think it is most important to give money, time, or expertise?

Tuesday, September 17, 2013
Gretchen Rubin recommends to be "Be selfless, if only for selfish reasons," pointing out that those who help out tend to be happier.  What do you feel when you volunteer?

Wednesday, September 18, 2013
Do you ever voluntarily do what you could get paid to do?  Why or why not?

Thursday, September 19, 2013
Pearl Buck said, "To serve is beautiful, but only if it is done with joy and a whole heart and a free mind."  Do you think you can serve without joy?  Is it still a good deed if it is done halfheartedly?

Friday, September 20, 2013
Do you do volunteer work with your children or parents?

Monday, September 23, 2013
Barack Obama said, "The best way to not feel hopeless is to get up and do something."  When was the last time you took control?

Tuesday, September 24, 2013
Abraham Lincoln said, "He has a right to criticize, who has a heart to help."  Do you agree or disagree?

Wednesday, September 25, 2013
If volunteering helps people live longer, what will you do with those extra weeks you've tacked onto your life by helping others?

Thursday, September 26, 2013
Are you part of the armed forces?  What moved you to sign up for the military?

Friday, September 27, 2013
Have you ever considered (or did you join) the Peace Corp?  Where would you want to go?

Monday, September 30, 2013
Have you read about someone else's volunteer experience via NaBloPoMo this month, and has it inspired you to do something new?

Melissa writes Stirrup Queens and Lost and Found. Her novel about blogging is Life from Scratch.

Comments

In order to comment on BlogHer.com, you'll need to be logged in. You'll be given the option to log in or create an account when you publish your comment. If you do not log in or create an account, your comment will not be displayed.