NHTSA releases new car seat safety ratings

Originally posted at askpatty.com.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) recently released new car seat ease-of-use ratings. A new five-star ratings system will help parents evaluate car seat features before they buy.

Safety isn’t a factor in the ratings because all seats rated by the NHTSA meet Federal Safety Standards and crash performance standards. The seats are rated in four categories:

* Evaluation of instructions
* Vehicle installation features
* Evaluation of labels
* Securing the child

I checked out our car seat and the ratings and comments were spot-on. Our seat is great in many ways. But it doesn’t have a way to insert the harness buckles one-at-a-time or to even keep the two pieces together as you’re trying to insert them. It’s been a source of frustration for me from day one. While it certainly is easier than it was at first, it’s no fun to wrestle a wiggly baby into his seat straps. Baby Trend could help make it easier.

So if you’re looking for any car safety seat — infants, toddlers, or 4-8 year old kids — check out the Five-Star Ease-of-Use ratings system. I certainly will when our little guy outgrows his current seat. And at his current rate of growth, that won’t be long at all.


In order to comment on BlogHer.com, you'll need to be logged in. You'll be given the option to log in or create an account when you publish your comment. If you do not log in or create an account, your comment will not be displayed.

Trending Now