Bio
Son-Noah.Daughter-Berit. Dog-Uma Thurman. One of my first assignments as a TV reporter in 1973 was to get an interview with Elvis Presley. Obviously,...
 
 
 
 

What’s Hot on BlogHer.com

Part II: Even Without Free Trial Offers The Scams For Acai Berry Continue

  • Share This Post
  • submit
  • 6
  • Sparkle (
    )
     

With the free trial offers for acai berry now under attack by the attorney generals of several states not to mention a huge lawsuit by Oprah and Dr. Oz, you might think that all those online promotions for acai berry supplements would now be on the up and up. One would think.

If you spend any time window shopping online what you quickly discover is that many of these companies are taking advantage of the bad publicity to position themselves as the acai berry providers that don't do deceptive trial offers.


scam ads

The top ad uses a web address that is piggybacking on the very reputable website WebMD. However, the site, WebMDSpecialist, was just another acai berry sales site and evidently, a fly-by-night site. A few days after this ad appeared, a follow-up search on Google got an "Oops! This link appears to be broken." A follow-up on Whois.com found that website had just launched on October 1, 2009 and that information of the owner of the domain is protected. The registrant of that domain owns over 80 more domains.

The Mona Vie ad is linked to a site recruiting affiliate marketeers. The majority of companies selling acai berry use an affiliate marketing strategy that's where all those Amy, Carrie, Jeannie, Pam, Nicole and Kelly blogs come from.

The third ad is the most insidious because it presents itself as the anti-scam acai berry site. The ad links you to aProvenProduct.com which sells a private label acai berry product. It appears very reputable. It is accredited by the Better Business Bureau and it proudly displays an anti spam icon.

Integrity Endorsements

aProvenProduct.com is owned by JJ Smith Marketing and that company does have an "A" rating by the Better Business Bureau. But that's just half of the story.

JJ "Joe" Smith operates a JJ Smith Marketing, LLC which promotes itself as an engineered marketing company. He also says on his website that, "We're completely booked through 2009, however I can be convinced to bump really interesting projects to the top of the list."

In 2007, Julie's Journal, a paid review blog, promoted one of "Joe" Smith's affiliate marketing opportunities:WealthInfoGuy.comWorkathometruth.com has some major concerns about wealthlinfoguy. Like the acai berry ads, the WealthInfoGuy offers a seven day free trial before charging $97.00 one time activation fee and then a monthly fee of $39 and change.
Trial Offers

 

So at aProvenProducts, Mr. Smith warns consumers against trial offers but at his other company, he uses trial offers. Who knows what he does at his other domains? According to domaintools.com he owns 315 of them.

A check at RipOff Report garnered one complaint against WealthInfoGuy. That complaint listed a second company, Tafiti Consulting. which is owned by National Resources Marketing which has over 250 domains. What is the connection? Not sure. But, interestingly, Tafiti Consulting is located in Kearny, Mo. Until recently, WealthInfoGuy was headquartered,so to speak, in Gladstone, Mo.- a distance of about 20 miles.

The problem of course is that average consumer isn't going to spend three hours searching out the connections and links to all these companies to find out whether or not they are legitimate.

Despite all the scams, consumers want to believe in a miracle product that will help them lose weight quickly. Having Britney Spears appear on Jay Leno and attribute her significant weight loss to acai berry will only fuel the desire of people to order what Britney is having.

If they go looking for acai berry online, they will have lots of companies that are eager to take their money. The question is, can you trust any of them?

 

Elana blogs about business culture at FunnyBusiness.com

 

  • 6
  • Sparkle (
    )
     

Comments

Post comment as twitter logo facebook logo
Sort: Newest | Oldest
jjsmithmark 5 pts

Hi Elana, I'm Joe of JJSmith Group, Inc. We are the majority shareholder of aProvenProduct.com.

A customer sent me this post today and I must admit I'm baffled. I've never heard of this company you talk about and I've never lived in Missouri.

For several years (2006-2008) I did have a gentlemen that worked for me that only did affiliate work (he was very good and I wish he was still with me, maybe he did run some traffic to wealthguy briefly, I'm not sure).

As for us at JJSmith Group, we've always had an A rating with the BBB and have thousands of very happy customers.

So I'm left scratching my head at why you would speak so poorly of our company, if you've never purchased any of our products or spoke with any of our customers?

Sorry for the rambling comment, I'm not even sure why I'm commenting. Except to say we aren't the bad guys.

Of course, I guess there's nothing I can say to convince you of that. However, please feel free to read some of our reviews from customers on 3rd party sites like resellerreviews.com, google.com, shopperapproved.com, etc.

Blessings,

Joe Smith
2901 Richmond Road
Ste. 130-185
Lexington, KY

DonnyB 5 pts

Watch out for auto shipping and the clubs that come at the end of an order Auto shipping is a scam in and of it’s self I have a friend that works in the industry and he tells me the following

1. Whether it is internet or a phone sale the auto ship is explained however it is never clear. They are trained to gloss over auto ships and just meet the FCC And if your LUCKY you can get customer service to STOP the autoshipguidelines that keep them out of court.
2. This is true only for the 800 number call operators are standing by calls STAY AWAY FROM THE FREE OFFERS AT THE END OF THE CALL (Called Clubs). They are trained to try and lull you in by using a very monotone voice and at the end of the statement saying “OK” real brightly. People they are reading you a CONTRACT and it IS binding The best way to not mess with these is as soon as they start hang up!!
( http://www.zadar2006.com / )
( http://www.modestyblase.com/ )

Tommie 5 pts

There is a lifestyle (I hesitate to call it a diet) that works not only to normalize a person's weight but also to make the person healthier. It's one that not many people will even try because it calls for a radical change. I went through that change back in mid-2005. You can check it out at Awesome to be Rawsome ( http://www.reallyrawfood.com ). There are people who will decide to go on it for "a month just to do a cleanse" and then go back to their old ways. That doesn't work but sticking with it does.

SpinDiva 5 pts

It is the desire to lose it all quickly that keeps this market so open.  Sometimes people become desperate and become hopeful that maybe this one will work for me, only to realize that it doesn't and we have once again, been taken by yet another promising product.  Bottom line, all weightloss products  encourage following a nutrition and exercise plan to aid in the weightloss and I say, just follow the nutrition and exercise program and see what happens then.

thanks for sharing the message.

Terie

I wrote an article last year that relates to this topic of quick weightloss pills.  Read it here:

http://familyinshape.typepad.com/familyinshape/200...

tjsmith 5 pts

The problem with advancing technology and the shrinking world is that some will always use these wonderous things for evil.

I had some friends try to sell me on the miracle of Mona Vie. I kept asking them what was in it and the answer was always a non-answer, but they were sadly true believers that this was going to make them young again and cure cancer. I was immediately suspicious that it was packaged to look like a fine bottle of wine and priced like one too.

People are hoping for instant miracles, "as seen on TV" and I agree with the previous comment that no one wants to hear eat less, exercise more and you will lose weight. Too many people ignore the old adage: "if it sounds too good to be true...."

TJ Smith

http://downturnliving.com

( http://downturnliving.com%3C/a )

Vered 5 pts

Losing weight is hard work and no one wants gto listen to "lose 1 pound per week by eating less and exercising more." I wish they would, though, because the only reason these scams exist is that people are willing (begging) to fall for them. I wrote about Acai Berry and other fad diets ( http://momgrind.com/2009/08/30/acai-berry-fad-diet... ) a while ago, and of course I keep getting acai berry Adwords ads on that post!

----

Hire a Blogger ( http://momgrind.com/hire-me/ )

Social Media Services ( http://www.socialmediamarketingexpert.net/social-m... )