Senate HELP Committee Meets Thursday to Mark Up MOTHERS Act for Postpartum Depression

BlogHer Original Post

J0433087FEBRUARY 14, at 10am, the Senate's HELP committee will mark up the new Melanie Blocker Stokes MOTHERS Act Bill ...

Let's ask the HELP committee to send a Valentine to America's mothers by finishing up the bill and sending it to the Senate floor for a final vote. 


Given that it has been a long time since I've been in the 8th grade and focused on U.S. Civics, I will refresh both you and myself with an explanation of "mark-up" from C-SPAN:

A Mark-Up refers to the meeting of a Committee held to review the text of a bill before reporting it out. Committee members offer and vote on proposed changes to the bill's language, known as amendments. Most mark-ups end with a vote to send the new version of the bill to the floor for final approval.

And that's what we want -- the bill to go to a final vote and get passed.  The HELP committee is responsible for all proposed legislation on measures relating to education, labor, health and public welfare.  It is made up of some very powerful Democratic and Republican Senators.

So it's time for some ACTION.  Please pick up the phone AGAIN and call the HELP committee.  Ask them to send a Valentine to America's moms by supporting the MOTHERS Act (S 1375).  I know you already called because you're awesome and helpful and care very much about this, but I need you to CALL AGAIN.  Tell the following Senators you support this bill:

Democrats by Rank

  • Edward Kennedy (MA) - 202-224-4543
  • Christopher Dodd (CT) - a co-sponsor of the bill ; 202-224-2823
  • Tom Harkin (IA) - 202-224-3254
  • Barbara Mikulski (MD) - 202-224-4654
  • Jeff Bingaman (NM) 202-224-5521
  • Patty Murray (WA) 202-224-2621
  • Jack Reed (RI) 202-224-4642
  • Hillary Rodham Clinton (NY) - 202-224-4451
  • Barack Obama (IL) - a co-sponsor of the bill; 202-224-2854
  • Bernard Sanders (VT) - a co-sponsor of the bill; 202-224-5141
  • Sherrod Brown (OH) - a co-sponsor of the bill; 202-224-2315
  • Republicans by Rank

    • Michael Enzi (WY) - chairman of the HELP committee; 202-224-3424
    • Judd Gregg (NH) 202-224-3324
    • Lamar Alexander (TN) 202-224-4944
    • Richard Burr (NC) 202-224-3154
    • Johnny Isakson (GA) - 202-224-3643
    • Lisa Murkowski (AK) 202-224-6665
    • Orrin Hatch (UT) - 202-224-5251
    • Pat Roberts (KS) - 202-224-4774
    • Wayne Allard (CO) 202-224-5941
    • Tom Coburn (OK) 202-224-5754

    If lines are busy or it's difficult to call during business hours, here is the email address of the committee: While this doesn't replace the more impactful direct calling, it's an alternative.


    In order to comment on, you'll need to be logged in. You'll be given the option to log in or create an account when you publish your comment. If you do not log in or create an account, your comment will not be displayed.