Would You Ever Delete All Your Tweets?

BlogHer Original Post

Ever have that urge to completely start over your social media world from scratch? Dump all those old blog posts and reinvent your writing life? Clean out your Facebook account and start friending anew? What about wipe out all your old Tweets but keep your followers?

That last one is accomplished easily with TwitWipe. Instead of deleting your account and starting a new one, it allows you to keep your followers as well as the people you are following but delete out all those old tweets. The service itself answers the question why the hell someone would want to do this:

You may need to do this to start over, to clean it out before handing the account over to someone else, or maybe you've just realised how shitty your tweets are.

Damn -- shitty tweets aside, there are plenty of great reasons why you may want to erase your tweets. It may be as simple as refocusing your online efforts. In the past you spoke only on one topic, and now you want to shed that old identity and move on to a new idea. Or you may have just ended a relationship and not want the reminder of old tweets from happier times. Or you may have deep regrets about past tweets and would like to purge that era of your life.

So the real question is... would you do it? Could you ever see yourself wiping your Twitter account clean and starting over, or do you like to keep your Tweets for old time sake?


Photo Credit: Twitter via Shutterstock.

Melissa writes Stirrup Queens and Lost and Found. Her novel about blogging is Life from Scratch.

Comments

In order to comment on BlogHer.com, you'll need to be logged in. You'll be given the option to log in or create an account when you publish your comment. If you do not log in or create an account, your comment will not be displayed.